Founded in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan in 1975, Thistledown Press began as a venue for new Prairie writers, and soon burgeoned into a publisher of emerging and established writers from across Canada. Thistledown has published more than 500 titles in its 45 years, including work by Lorna Crozier, Susan Juby, Patrick Lane, Alden Nowlan, Alistair MacLeod, John Lent, Angie Abdou, Harold R. Johnson, Susan Musgrave, Marty Chan, Devin Krukoff, Tara Gereaux, Rita Bouvier, Leah Horlick, and Dawn Dumont. 

The press came under new ownership in fall 2020, and the new team is proud to carry on Thistledown’s commitment to publishing Canadian literary writing, with a particular focus on authors from Western Canada. Our current program features fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. We publish books for adult, young adult, juvenile, and (occasionally) very young readers.

An independent literary publisher of high editorial standards, producing beautifully designed books for distribution across Canada and the US, we remain based in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, with an office in the heart of the vibrant Riversdale neighbourhood. 

Thistledown Press is a member of The Association of Canadian Publishers, The Literary Press Group of Canada, and SaskBooks. 

Thistledown Press gratefully acknowledges the financial support of The Canada Council for the Arts, SK Arts, and the government of Canada for its publishing program.

Thistledown Press is located on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional territory of Cree Peoples, and the Homeland of the Métis.

For information about publishing with Thistledown Press, please see our Submission Guidelines.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top